Fishing In The Rain (& Snow)

IT’S ALL ABOUT PERSISTENCE & GUILE

ad-falsno.jpgI took some time off yesterday to visit Yellowstone and get in some fishing before the park closes for the transition to winter visitation. The snow is still light and most disappears in a day, except on the high peaks around the town.

ac-first-fall-snow.jpgFishing is still very good and there are very few people or cars on our side of the park. The usual crowd is clustered around the Barns Holes and in the meadows at Madison Junction. But there is plenty of elbow room on the Gibbon and on Nez Perce Creek. I spent about two hours fishing at the first parking area below the meadow, (I better learn the local names,) and enjoyed the snow and the fish.

belitesno.jpgThe snow was more like a mist, and it was very warm and stuck to the shady spots only. The day started out very nice with blue sky and big fluffy clouds and I felt very righteous as I continued to work and look out the window. It finally got to me & I packed up the computer grabbed my new camera and made fishing preparations. The sky was closing in when I left for the park.

I took dad’s bamboo rod and the old English reel. It’s about an eight weight, (according to the guy at the fly shop,) but it casts very nicely and the line just floats to the water. I spent about an hour without any encouragement and changed flies twice. Finally I put on a “Toad Bunny” – a big green rabbit fur strip with feathers on the side – and scared the fish. They splashed at it and refused it in a most spectacular fashion.

I went to the big bend where the unnamed tributary comes in and crawled up to the edge of the Madison and casted the fly way up stream and let it float and sink into the deep slick by the buffalo trail. I saw the line stop, and then felt the fish. It was a nice Brown Trout about 20″ long and it took some time to land. It was dark when I released the fish. I came home and had some artichokes with butter and mayonnaise. A sinful reward for that fishing adventure. Soon I’ll get a 22″ trout – I know it!

a-nude-hiker-bw.jpg ================

Speaking of big fish: my feed reader brought forth some more chicks in brief attire, courtesy of the fishing blogs. I can only respond with the simple fact that backpacking is much more fun with a good guide.

===============

This morning I ordered the rifles for next year’s season. Hunter class benchrest is undergoing a revolution in cartridges at the moment, and a new contender is making a strong showing at the matches. The 30 BR is doing very well & I almost ordered one. However, conservative that I am, I ordered a well smithed Remington in .308, and a Tikka – also in .308. I’ve added some pages about the cartridge and will update them with the rifle specifications soon. If I get beat too badly by the new cartridge I’ll have to re-barrel the rifles.

Time for dinner and the news.

  • RSS National Parks Traveler

  • RSS VINOGRAPHY

  • RSS Wine Hiker

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS MID CURRENT

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS NOAA HEADLINES

    • Fire Weather Threats Continue in the West; Wintry Weather from Upper Midwest to New England
  • RSS FLYFISHMAGAZINE

  • RSS Fly Fishing Colorado

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS Trout Nut

  • Feeds For You

    Subscribe with Bloglines





    Fair Use Notice

    --- This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc.

    --- We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes.

    --- If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.
